[Dirvish] Are files and directories deleted from all backup after excluding

Paul Slootman paul at debian.org
Thu Jul 31 13:14:53 UTC 2008


On Thu 31 Jul 2008, Michael Kindermann wrote:

> A simple question but
> I am not shure. 
> I want to exclude 2 Directories from an vault cause they move to an other partion, and will be backuped in an new vault. 
> What I will do is exclude them from the old vault.
> Will this excluded directories expire normal. Or will they going to be  deleted immeadeadly from the whole during next expire?

Whether the files (incl. directories) have disappeared from the backup
due to an exclude or due to them being deleted from the source doesn't
make any difference. Hence they will of course still remain in the older
images and expire as normal.

The whole point of dirvish is to have different images that contain the
contents of the source tree as they were at the time of making that
image. So existing images will never change (until they're deleted, of
course).


Paul Slootman


More information about the Dirvish mailing list